Cerebral Palsy Information

Home  ‑  Practice Areas  ‑  Ohio Birth Injury Attorney  ‑  Cerebral Palsy Information


Types Of Cerebral Palsy

There are several different types of cerebral palsy, including spastic, ataxic, athetoid/dyskinetic, hypotonic and mixed.

1. Spastic

Spastic cerebral palsy results in muscle tightness and stiffness which causes jerky movements, poor coordination, exaggerated reflexes and possibly the inability to walk.

  • Spastic quadriplegia affects the movements in the arms and the legs.
  • Spastic diplegia affects just the lower part of the body.
  • Spastic hemiplegia affects muscles on one side of the body.

2. Ataxic

Ataxic cerebral palsy results in impaired fine motor skills, balance and coordination and can interfere with writing, grabbing and holding objects, speech, vision, walking and swallowing.

3. Athetoid/Dyskinetic

Athetoid cerebral palsy (dyskinetic cerebral palsy) results in loss of muscle control which causes uncontrolled movements in the face, legs and arms.

4. Hypotonic

Hypotonic cerebral palsy results in slight or no movement.

If your child injured at birth, let The Skolnick Weiser Law Firm, LLC, file a claim against the medical professional who delivered your child. To find out if you have a case, fill out our contact form or call us today at 216-861-8888 or 877-977-3476 (toll free).